Thought on the Serious Truth-Seeking of the Atheist

Numerous atheists count themselves as “seekers of the truth” and “investigators of evidence”, but no atheist can place himself in these categories if he has not made a true attempt to employ the personally experiential technique of potentially coming to know of God’s existence by first striving to live like a Christian and then, in that climate–and, of course, with contrition and meekness and genuineness–asking God to provide personally satisfactory evidence of His existence so that the atheist can come to believe*, for only if the atheist has taken such a two-step course of action (and only the atheist knows if the attempt was genuine) can the atheist even potentially be counted as a true and full seeker of truth and evidence concerning the matter of God’s existence; and lest the atheist mock this personally experiential method as little more than an attempt at ‘argument through feeling’, I simply note that that of which we are most certain, namely that we are conscious thinking things who love, doubt, and so on, is a fact that we know through nothing more than personal and direct experience, and so if knowledge through such means renders rational the belief in one’s own consciousness–and of course it does, for it is absurd to claim otherwise–than it can equally render rational belief in the existence of God.

*Note that for some atheists no amount of evidence will ever be sufficient to convince them of God’s existence, and so these atheists are lost to all reason.

6 thoughts on “Thought on the Serious Truth-Seeking of the Atheist

  1. I don’t agree with your rules for truth-seeking. I mean, where does it end? Do I also have to honestly seek out the truth of unicorns and strive to become a pure unicorn princess before I win the “full seeker of truth” award?

    But you shouldn’t follow your rules, either. You are already describing a large number of atheists who have lived honestly as theists and have searched for god with all our hearts. We were convinced of his existence and wanted to stay that way. And yet here we are on the other side with a completely different conclusion. Of course you cannot agree, but you are missing an experience that even allows you to grasp it. By your rules, it looks as if maybe we have earned our “full seeker of truth” badge first.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Life,

      First off, your analogy is nonsensical and inane for the simple fact that a unicorn, by definition, could not give you a personal experience when you asked for it (let alone a personal experience that would be convincing to you), whereas an omnipotent and omniscient being could. So the two beings being compared here are completely different in kind. Second, the existence of unicorns is inconsequential, and thus ultimately unimportant to one’s life, whereas the existence of God is of ultimate importance to one’s life and of the utmost consequence. So the two things are not even the same in that respect. Thus, once again, your analogy is flawed and foolish.

      Now, concerning your claim that you honestly sought God and did not find him…well, all I can do is take your word on that. Only you and God know whether that is the case, and I reckon we shall all know at the Last Judgement. But again, you miss my point, for my point is not that an atheist might try this technique and fail, but rather that if he has not tried this, then he has not tried every reasonable avenue to come to know God, and so he is not worthy of the name ‘truth-seeker.’

      Like

      • Says you. How is a unicorn any different than a thousand other gods you don’t believe in? To those of us who do not believe in your specific god, it is exactly the same. Because if god is not real then of course it has no meaning to our lives. And how many other unreal gods would you like us to explore? I don’t expect you to see that point of view. You cannot. I couldn’t see it for a long time, either.

        But I got your point. Your point is that if an atheist truly seeks god, god will be found. Because god is real. Perhaps you have missed my point that many atheists have found god. I did not seek and come up empty-handed. I found him and accepted him. I had a relationship with him, just like you. I gave my life to serving him for many years. I believed with all my heart that he was real. How many came to know Jesus through me? So many kids answered the call to accept Jesus when I was a missionary. How many times did I pray that prayer with them?

        Can you imagine what it must have taken to convince me that I was wrong about god and had only imagined him? It took whatever it would take for you to come to that conclusion. And I can introduce you to a thousand others just like me from people I have personally talked to alone. To say we have been truth-seeking is an understatement. You have no idea what truth-seeking is until you have tried desperately to hold onto the concept of god.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh good Lord, stop with the stupid atheist slogans and the idiotic comparisons. It is obvious that a unicorn is not the same as God (the Greatest Conceivable Being). It is obvious that the existence or non-existence of unicorns is ultimately irrelevant to one’s life, whereas the existence of the Greatest Conceivable Being is not. It is obvious that a Greatest Conceivable Being could give you an experience upon request that a unicorn (a horse with a horn) could not.

        And no, you did not get my point, because my point was obviously not that if an atheist truly seeks God He will be found (after all, God could have reasons not to be found by that person at that point in time). My point was that until and unless the atheist tries such a technique, then he cannot call himself a real truth-seeker given that he has not employed a reasonable and easy way to potentially seek the truth in this matter.

        And since you brought it up, why don’t you tell us what convinced you that God was not real and that you had only imagined Him?

        Like

  2. Okay, I get it. Unicorns aren’t funny to you.

    It took years to unravel god. Are you looking for me to sum that up in a sentence or two? Do you really imagine that losing religion can be expressed so simply? Go to my blog if you want to do research on that.

    I think what you want is a fight. The first sentence of your last response tells me you are a person who lets emotion sabotage your arguments. You will have a tough time influencing people that way, friend. You write a lot about atheism, but you are not ready for the discussion. You have a few things to figure out about your imagined opponents first.

    My original point was only to mention that the truth-seekers you describe resemble most of the atheists I spend time with. But I made my point. Have a lovely evening.

    Like

    • No, Life, I am really rather unemotional about your personal life and deconversion. However, I am tired of stupidity, and so when a stupid point is presented as if it is sound wisdom, it deserves to be called out for the idiocy that it is.

      Next, although I understand that you cannot sum up your full deconversion in a sentence or two, but surely you can tell us which rational arguments and evidences convinced you that God does not exist? Can we at least have that? Which arguments convinced you.

      Finally, please note that I am neither interested in a fight or a discussion with atheists. You can read what I write or not. I don’t care. Nor do I care about your damnation, for I am not out to convince you or preach to you. I am here to speak truth as best as I can…what you do with it is your business.

      Like

Leave a Reply

