Thought

Personally, I have never understood the idea that belief in a religion–and especially belief in Christianity–is a form of wish-fulfillment, for while the idea of simply ceasing to exist (as would occur on atheistic-naturalism) is rather unfrightening and fills me with absolutely no existential angst, the idea of being judged by a just and righteous and loving God scares the shit out of me just thinking about it; indeed, for people like me–and I am sure that I am not the only one–it is atheistic-naturalism which would be the wish-fulfillment, not theism, and yet it is theism that it is reality, so my wish has certainly not come true.

2 thoughts on “Thought

  1. I had a lot of existential angst when I first became an atheist. I certainly wished to believe my religion was true, but found that I could not. The thought of simply ceasing to exist terrified me, though I have since made peace with it.

    It’s interesting to hear from someone with a such a different experience than mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

